Rollover or tap image to see magnified area.

  Item Reference: KCLCAL-1969-1970-231

Please note: The digitised calendars in this site have had their contents extracted using OCR (optical character recognition) and as a result, there may be occasional errors in the text. We are working on correcting these errors, but this may take some time.

Page content

Names of the Past and Present Staff 243 FACULTY OF NATURAL SCIENCE NATURAL PHILOSOPHY 18311 Henry Moseley 18442 Matthew O'Brien 1854 Thomas Minchin Goodeve Professors 1860' James Clerk Maxwell 18654 William Grylls Adams sc 18 51 George Robarts Smalley Lecturers 1863 Demonstrators 18685 Richard Abbay 1891 1869 James Thomson Bottomley 1895 18706 Herbert Tomlinson 1903 1884 Edward Felix Herroun William Grylls Adams μ α Harold Sydney Jones Stuart Arthur Frank White Jeremiah Joseph Ezekiel Durack PHYSICS Professors 1834 Charles Wheatstone 1900 William Grylls Adams sc 19057 Harold Albert Wilson sc 19098 Charles Glover Barkla sc Wheatstone Professors 1914 Sir Owen Willans Richardson sc ll 192410 Edward Victor Appleton sc ll 1936" Charles Drummond Ellis ph 194612 John Turton Randall sc inst 1962 William Charles Price scd inst Professors of Theoreticat Physics 1947" Charlcs Alfred Coulson ph 1954 Cyril Domb ph sc 1965" Michael Ellis Fisher sc ph 195214Hugh Christopher Longuet-Hig- gins phil Canon of Bristol Fellow and Tutor of Caius College Cambridge Afterwards Cavendish Professor Cambridge Fellow of St John's College Cambridge Late Fellow of Wadham College Oxford First Principal of Chelsea Polytechnic Late Fellow of Trinity College Cambridge Afterwards Professor of Natural Philosophy in the University of Edinburgh Nobel Prizeman י Fellow of Trinity College Cambridge Awarded Hughes Medal of the Royal Society 1920 later Yarrow Research Professor of the Royal Society and attached to the College as Director of Research Nobel Prizeman 10 Afterwards Jackson Professor of Natural Philosophy University of Cambridge and sub- sequenlly Secretary of the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research Later Sir Edward Appleton Principal of Edinburgh University Nobel Prizeman Afterwards Scientific Adviser to the Army Council 1943-46 and subsequently Sir Charles Ellis and member of the National Coal Board 12 Formerly Professor of Natural Philosophy University of St Andrews and afterwards Professor of Biophysics Afterwards Rouse Ball Professor of Mathematics in the University of Oxford 14 Afterwards John Humphrey Plummet Professor of Theoretical Chemistry Cambridge 15 Afterwards Professor at Cornell University
ARCHIOS™ | Total time:0.1680 s | Source:database | Platform: NX