Rollover or tap image to see magnified area.

  Item Reference: KCLCAL-1968-1969-346

Please note: The digitised calendars in this site have had their contents extracted using OCR (optical character recognition) and as a result, there may be occasional errors in the text. We are working on correcting these errors, but this may take some time.

Page content

THE THEOLOGICAL DEPARTMENT of KING'S COLLEGE LONDON UNIVERSITY OF LONDON ANNUAL REPORT OF THE COUNCIL FOR THE SESSION 1966-67 presented to the COURT of the COLLEGE COUNCIL AND CORPORATION The Council has met three times in joint session with the Theological Committee The Theological Committee had one additional meeting The Archbishop of Canterbury nominated three Life-Governors the Rt Hon Lord Justice Edmund Davies LL Sir Peter Noble LL and the Very Reverend Eric Symes Abbott The Council heard with great regret of the death on November 25th 1966 of Sir William Reginald Halliday Litt LL Principal of King's College from 1929 to 1952 of the death on January 27th of the Rt Hon the Earl of Kilmuir Life-Governor of King's College from 1960 of the death on June 28th 1967 of Sydney Taverner Shovelton Secretary of King's College from 1919 to 1948 and of the death on July 1st 1967 of the Reverend Canon Edward Craddock Ratcliff Professor of Liturgical Theology from 1945 to 1947 The Council learned with pleasure that Her Majesty the Queen had appointed as the thirteenth Principal of King's College General Sir John Hackett Sir John was educated at Geelong Australia and at New College Oxford He is an honorary LL of the University of Perth Western Australia At the Honorary Degree Ceremony on November 28th 1966 the degree of Doctor of Divinity honoris causa was conferred on the Very Reverend Eric Symes Abbott Dean of Westminster and Dean of King's College from 1945 to 1956 The staff of the Theological Department elected Miss Margaret Lois
ARCHIOS™ | Total time:0.0288 s | Source:cache | Platform: NX