Rollover or tap image to see magnified area.

  Item Reference: KCLCAL-1968-1969-232

Please note: The digitised calendars in this site have had their contents extracted using OCR (optical character recognition) and as a result, there may be occasional errors in the text. We are working on correcting these errors, but this may take some time.

Page content

Names of the Past and Present Staff 245 FACULTY OF NATURAL SCIENCE MATHEMATICS See under Faculty of Arts NATURAL PHILOSOPHY Professors 18311 Henry Moseley 1860נ James Clerk Maxwell 1844 Matthew O'Brien 18654 William Grylls Adams sc 1854 Thomas Minchin Goodeve Lecturers 18 51 George Robarts Smalley 1863 William Grylls Adams Demonstrators 18685 Richard Abbay 1891 Harold Sydney Jones 1869 James Thomson Bottomley 1895 Stuart Arthur Frank White 18706 Herbert Tomlinson 1903 Jeremiah Joseph Ezekiel Durack 1884 Edward Felix Herroun PHYSICS Professors Wheatstone Professors 1834 Charles Wheatstone 1914' Sir Owen Willans Richardson 1900 William Grylls Adams sc sc ll 1924' Edward Victor Appleton 19057 Harold Albert Wilson sc sc ll 1936" Charles Drummond Ellis 19098 Charles Glover Barkla sc ph 1946 2John Turton Randall sc inst 1962 William Charles Price sc inst Professors of Theoretical Physics 1947ני Charles Alfred Coulson ph 1954 Cyril Domb ph sc 1965'5 Michael Ellis Fisher sc ph 195214 Hugh Christopher Longuet-Hig- gins phil Canon of Bristol Fellow and Tutor of Cains College Cambridge Afterwards Cavendish Professor Cambridge Fellow of St John's College Cambridge Late Fellow of Wadham College Oxford First Principal of Chelsea Polytechnic י Late Fellow of Trinity College Cambridge Afterwards Professor of Natural Philosophy in the University of Edinburgh Nobel Prizeman י Fellow of Trinity College Cambridge Awarded Hughes Medal of the Royal Society 1g20 later Yarrow Research Professor of the Royal Society and attached to the College as Director of Research Nobel Prizeman 10 Afterwards Jackson Professor of Natural Philosophy University of Cambridge and sub- sequently Secretary of the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research Later Sir Edward Appleton Principal of Edinburgh University Nobel Prizeman II Afterwards Scientific Adviser to the Army Council 1943-46 and subsequently Sir Charles Ellis and member of the National Coal Board 12 Formerly Professor of Natural Philosophy University of St Andrews and afterwards Professor of Biophysics 13 Afterwards Rouse Ball Professor of Mathematics in the University of Oxford Afterwards John Humphrey Plummer Professor of Theoretical Chemistry Cambridge 15 Afterwards Professor at Cornell University
ARCHIOS™ | Total time:0.1614 s | Source:database | Platform: NX