Rollover or tap image to see magnified area.

  Item Reference: KCLCAL-1964-1965-197

Please note: The digitised calendars in this site have had their contents extracted using OCR (optical character recognition) and as a result, there may be occasional errors in the text. We are working on correcting these errors, but this may take some time.

Page content

Names of the Past and Present Staff 207 1831 1844 1854 1861 1868 1869 18706 1884 FACULTY OF NATURAL SCIENCE MATHEMATICS See under Faculty of Arts NATURAL PHILOSOPHY Professors Henry Moseley 1860s James Clerk Maxwell Matthew O'Brien 1865 Thomas Minchin Goodevc Lecturers George Robarts Smalley 1863 Demonstrators Richard Abbay 1891 1895 1903 James Thomson Bottoniley Herbert Tomlinson Edward Felix Herroun William Grylls Adams sc William Grylls Adams Harold Sydney Jones Stuart Arthur Frank White Jeremiah Joseph Ezekiel Durack PHYSICS Wheatstone Professors 1914' Sir Owen Willans Richardson sc ll 192410 Edward Victor Appleton sc ll 1936" Charles Drummond Ellis ph 1946" John Turton Randall sc inst 1962 William Charles Price scd inst Professors of Theoretical Physics 1947ls Charles Alfred Coulson ph 1952' Hugh Christopher Longuet-Hig- sc gins phil 1954 Cyril Domb ph Professors 1834 Charles Wheatstone 1900 William Grylls Adams μ α sc 1905' Harold Albert Wilson sc i9098 Charles Glover Barkla sc Canon of Bristol Fellow and Tutor of Caius College Cambridge Afterwards Cavendish Professor Cambridge Fellow of St John's College Cambridge Late Fellow of Wadham College Oxford First Principal of Chelsea Polytechnic Late Fellow of Trinity College Cambridge Afterwards Professor of Natural Philosophy in the University of Edinburgh Nobel Prizeman י Fellow of Trinity College Cambridge Awarded Hughes Medal of the Royal Society 1920 later Yarrow Research Professor of the Royal Society and attached to the College as Director of Research Nobel Prizeman 10 Afterwards Jackson Professor of Natural Philosophy University of Cambridge and sub- sequently Secretary of the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research Now Sir Edward Appleton Principal of Edinburgh University Nobel Prizeman 11 Afterwards Scientific Adviser to the Army Council 1943-46 and subsequently Sir Charles Ellis and member of the National Coal Board 12 Formerly Professor of Natural Philosophy University of St Andrews 13 Afterwards Rouse Ball Professor of Mathematics in the University of Oxford 14 Afterwards John Humphrey Plummer Professor of Theoretical Chemistry Cambridge
ARCHIOS™ | Total time:0.0321 s | Source:cache | Platform: NX