Rollover or tap image to see magnified area.

  Item Reference: KCLCAL-1957-1958-249

Please note: The digitised calendars in this site have had their contents extracted using OCR (optical character recognition) and as a result, there may be occasional errors in the text. We are working on correcting these errors, but this may take some time.

Page content

PAST AND PRESENT STAFF 253 FACULTY OF NATURAL SCIENCE 1831 1844 1854 1861 1868 1869 1870 1884 MATHEMATICS See under Faculty of Art NATURAL PHILOSOPHY Professors Henry Moselcy 1860 James Clerk Maxwell Matthew O'Brien 1865 William Grylls Adams Sc Thomas Minchin Goodeve Lecturers George Bobarts Smalloy 1863 Demonstrators Richard Abbay 1891 James Thomson Bottomley 1895 Herbert Tomlinson 1903 Edward Felix Herroun William Grylls Adams Harold Sydney Jones Stuart Arthur Frank White Jeremiah Joseph Ezekiel Durack PHYSICS Professors 1834 Charles Wheatstone 1900 William Grylls Adams Sc 1906 Harold Albert Wilson Sc 1909 Charles Glover Barkla Sc 1914 Sir Owen Willans Richardson Hi Sc LL 1924 Edward Victor Appleton Μ Α Sc LL 1936 Charles Drummond Ellis BA I'm 1946 John Turton Randall Sc InsLP Professors of Theoretical Physics 1947 Charles Alfred Coulson Ph 1952 Hugh Christopher Longuet-Higgins Sc Phil 1954 ctril DOMB Ph Professor of Physics 1955 William Charles Price Ph Sc Inst Assistant Professor 1903 Edward Felix Herroun LO Readers 1920 William Wilson Sc Ph 1944 Alan Nunn May Ph 1922 William Edward Curtis Sc 1946 Frank Clive Champion Ph Inst 1927 Henry Thomas Flint Sc Ph 1949 William Charles Price Ph ScD InstP Canon of Bristol Fellow and Tutor of Cains College Cambridge Afterwards Cavendish Professor Cambridge Fellow of St John's College Cambridge Late Fellow of Wadham College Oxford First Principal of Chelsea Polytechnic Late Fellow of Trinity College Cambridge Afterwards Professor of Natural Philosophy in the University of Edinburgh Nobel Prizeman Fellow of Trinity College Cambridge Awarded Hughes Medal of the Royal Society 1920 later Yarrow Research Professor of the Royal Society and attached to the College as Director of Research Nobel Prizeman Afterwards Jackson Professor of Natural Philosophy University of Cambridge and subsequently Secretary of the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research Now Sir Edward Appleton Principal of Edinburgh University Nobel Prizeman II Afterwards Scientific Adviser to the Army Council 1943-46 and subsequently Sir Charles Ellis and member of the National Coal Board Afterwards Professor of Physics Bedford College Afterwards Professor of Physics Armstrong College Newcastle-on-Tyne Afterwards Rouse Ball Professor of Mathematics in the University of Oxford Afterwards John Humphrey Plummer Professor of Theoretical Chemistry Cambridge
ARCHIOS™ | Total time:0.1839 s | Source:database | Platform: NX