Rollover or tap image to see magnified area.

  Item Reference: KCLCAL-1926-1927-72

Please note: The digitised calendars in this site have had their contents extracted using OCR (optical character recognition) and as a result, there may be occasional errors in the text. We are working on correcting these errors, but this may take some time.

Page content

68 PEIZES to the history of their times and in 1927 with the life of Chaucer and his times Prizemen For names of those elected previously to 1925 see former Calendars 1925 Webb John Robert Charles special 1928 Lloyd George Arthur Lewis Webb James Robert Charles additional ISlbicbelow 1Rea&inG ipn3e Founded 1917 by the Rev James Shearer Whichelow Vicar of St James' Muswell Hill Fellow of King's College 1873 who left in 1916 legacy of £100 to found Prizes for Proficiency in Public Reading for Students in the Theological Department of the College They are open to all Students who are preparing for the Associateship in Theology in the Final Year of their course Every Candidate must produce Certificate from the Lecturer in Elocution of satisfactory attendance at the Elocution Classes or of exemption by him from such attendance of competence in Reading list of approved Candidates will be drawn up by the Lecturer in the Lent Term of each Session and the Examination will be held at the close of that Term The Examination will be taken in book of the Bible and selection of the printed Sermons of great Preacher These books will be selected from year to year and announced some time before the competition takes place The Examination will be conducted by members of the Professorial Board The Prizes will consist of standard works in Theology Two Prizes will be allotted if sufficient merit is shown and may be either First and Second Prize or two Prizes of equal value Prizemen For names of those elected previously to 1925 see former Calendars 1925 Pym-Cornish Philip Gordon 1926 Lloyd George Arthur Lewis Bisbop Collins fl&emorial fl ri3e This Prize was founded in 1920 from funds raised by the Theo logical Society from the colleagues and old Students of William Edward Collins Bishop of Gibraltar Professor of Ecclesiastical History in King's College from 1893 to 1903 The Prize of the value of about £2 0s is awarded annually in the Michaelmas Term after examination in some subject connected
ARCHIOS™ | Total time:0.1885 s | Source:database | Platform: NX